(My) Literary Tattoos

What is the best way to honour your favourite author? Your favourite book or quote? My solution was a simple one, taken by many before me: Get a tattoo, therefore, in a few months time I will have the following quote tattooed on my arm:

‘It is a world of disappointment: often to the hopes we most cherish, and hopes that do our nature the greatest honour.’

For those of you who do not know, the quote is from the end of chapter 51 of Oliver Twist, by the great Charles Dickens.
Most of my friends, family and mere acquaintances alike have challenged me upon my choice of quote and asked me yet again why I was so ‘pessimistic’ and why I wanted such ‘horrible words’ permanently imprinted on my arm.
Only to me the words don’t symbolize a world full of dismayed dreams and a lack of futile hopes. To me they represent a different persona entirely.
I interpretate this quote as to mean that we may have hopes, we may cherish those hopes and cherish, live we may dabble our hands and mix with joy and wonder, but we must also bear in mind that nothing is eternal all things good and bad must come to an end and nothing is everlasting. We must learn to grow contempt with what we have and we must learn to not become emotionally attached to any object what so ever as it will bring disappointment and if not, the circumstances of earth and mother nature will (meaning eventually even if they do nothing wrong and everything is perfect some alternate factor controlled by you and forces beyond your nature and control will) It teaches me that although we may be upset when something we want leaves up, it’s something we should’ve perceived long before and in understanding this we learn not to dwell on the past, we learn to move on, we learn we can make mistakes as those mistakes are not everlasting if we didn’t make them somebody else would’ve. Everybody feels disappointment, everybody feels shame, all that matters is how to deal with those certain emotions. By not expecting much, we are not crushed when we do not receive much, and are rewarded when we do.
I fell in love with this quote when I first saw it in my old copy of ‘Oliver Twist’ that I vaguely remember stealing from my schools’ library and I thought it would be perfect to be imprinted on my arm, a reminder of my sacrifices, a reminder of my struggling burdens as I come to terms with grief and loss but a reminder that it is only a feeling and the feeling must eventually pass over and I must pathe a way to something different.
This will not be my last tattoo, I already have plans for at least six more (literary) tattoos’ by authors such as Shakespeare, Miller, Tolkien, Austen, J.M Barrie and A.A Milne and I think it’s the perfect way to celebrate the culminating, majestic and always beautiful works of my favourite novelists.
Each tattoo has its own story behind it, but they are each at too long to share here, maybe a different time, meanwhile I came through this awesome sight whilst procrastinating from college work:

http://www.contrariwise.org/

Take a look, it’s well worth it 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts, Uncategorized

2 responses to “(My) Literary Tattoos

  1. Excuse me for my thought disorder but maybe a way like this is more natural.

    A whole melancholy rises upon our eyes. And this is the struggle to became a part of what we say community. Not fo course with social criteria. I mean the real relationship between persons. Literature has no purpose in the inpretate of the words. It is a personal sense. That is why the majority of art forms became a personal matter (except of one I have in my mind). So, If iI could say something to you, i would have told that more beauty is hidden beneath this phraze of Twist than this whole explenation. Just words in the atmnosphere .Nothing more

    Maybe I shouldn’t have writing this comment. It is because your post make me feel strange. I mean wonderful, but with a smoldering sense. A sense of absence. Surely i would like to say more 🙂

    • Ya hu, I think the reason I love the quote so much is because it was the first quote I could actually remember, the first time words actually sunk within me and I felt as if they actually mattered, they weren’t just scribbles on a page. Before reading Dickens i’d just blaze through works of literature and not really pay attention to characters, themes. motifs etc at all. Dickens expanded my illterate self to a whole new side of literature, it was then that I saw beauty within it. Of course, there is more beauty to both Dickens and this quote than I can ever explain or possibly even comprehend, this is just how I interpretate the quote, my intepretation may be wrong to some, right to others, but it is my interpretation and I will stand by it. The quote is, just words travelling endlessly through the atmosphere, as you rightly said, but they are beautiful worlds.

Leave a Reply

